New York City Council

How long can each New York City Council member serve?

Breaking down the confusing term limit rules in the New York City Council.

New York City Hall

New York City Hall Alon Adika/Shutterstock

In the New York City Council, the rules say that members can only serve two consecutive four-year terms. In practice, it’s not so simple.

For example, council members elected to office on or before Nov. 2, 2010 – when term limits changed – could complete their current term and go on to serve up to two more full four-year terms.

RELATED: The 5 City Council members eyeing the speakership

In other cases, a candidate that wins a special election in the middle of a term can also serve an additional two full terms. For example, this is why New York City Councilman Rafael Salamanca Jr., who won a special election in February 2016, can serve through 2025.

Finally, a council member can also hit the maximum number of consecutive terms, take a break, and return to office. That’s what City Councilwoman Karen Koslowitz did, returning to the body in 2010 after serving for much of the 1990s.

Here’s a rundown of how long each current member has served – and when they’ll have to move on.


February 2007 Dec. 31, 2021

Mathieu Eugene


February 2009 Dec. 31, 2021

Eric Ulrich


Jan. 1, 2010 – Dec. 31, 2021

Fernando Cabrera

Margaret Chin

Daniel Dromm

Peter Koo

Karen Koslowitz

Brad Lander

Stephen Levin

Ydanis Rodriguez

Debi Rose

Jimmy Van Bramer

Jumaane Williams


November 2012 Dec. 31, 2021

Andy King


February 2013 – Dec. 31, 2021

Donovan Richards


Jan. 1, 2014 – Dec. 31, 2021

Inez Barron

Andrew Cohen

Costa Constantinides

Robert Cornegy Jr.

Laurie Cumbo

Chaim Deutsch

Rafael Espinal Jr.

Vanessa Gibson

Corey Johnson

Ben Kallos

Rory Lancman

Mark Levine

Alan Maisel

Steven Matteo

Carlos Menchaca

  1. Daneek Miller

Antonio Reynoso

Helen Rosenthal

Ritchie Torres

Mark Treyger

Paul Vallone


November 2015 – Dec. 31, 2021 (and eligible to serve Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2025)

Joseph Borelli

Barry Grodenchik


February 2016 – Dec. 31, 2021 (and eligible to serve Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2025)

Rafael Salamanca Jr.


February 2017 – Dec. 31, 2021 (and eligible to serve Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2025)

Bill Perkins


Jan. 1, 2018 – Dec. 31, 2021 (and eligible to serve Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2025)

Adrienne Adams

Alicka Ampry-Samuel

Diana Ayala

Justin Brannan

Ruben Diaz Sr.

Mark Gjonaj

Robert Holden

Francisco Moya

Keith Powers

Carlina Rivera

Kalman Yeger